Skip to content

Natty bakes Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

August 25, 2009

nigella129

So, I’ve got a food-girl crush. Actually I’ve had it for quite some time now…it’s Nigella Lawson. I know, not that surprising/original, but seriously, what isn’t there to like about her? For one thing she is beautiful and has a wonderful-sounding voice. But most of all what I love is her warm comfort-based, sensual approach to food (check out her easy caramel croissant pudding recipe…um? yum!) & also her charming style of presenting. In both her food writing and on her cooking shows, she always seems to have this friendly, flirty and sometimes cheeky vibe which I really find enjoyable to watch & read.

How to be a domestic goddess

My mom bought me “How To Be A Domestic Goddess: Baking & The Art Of Comfort Cooking ” a while ago and I just LOVE it. Every recipe I have tried so far has been scrumdiddlyumptious and today I’m going to share my adaptation of her deliciously moist banana bread recipe. At this point, I have baked it many times—for family, friends, a work meeting, a special boy and a couple times for another special person whose name rhymes with “bratty taker” and “fatty maker”…

The first time I made it, I followed Nigella’s version pretty faithfully and it was the best banana bread I had ever made (I’ve tried at least handful in my lifetime ok? Not too too shabby). The next time I made it though, I changed & added many things to the original recipe and this is the version I now stick too.  A warning to all readers: this isn’t the wholesome & healthy banana bread that you may be thinking you can eat for breakfast every morning (though feel free to do so if you desire! I definitely do this with my pumpkin loaf when it’s in my kitchen). Instead, this is the nigella ‘n natty bakes sweet & decadent banana bread that may make you moan. I do substitute some of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour though & so perhaps I can make some kind of health claim in that respect… No? I didn’t think so either. I can make a yummy claim though, especially if you follow these three tips:

1) Use 4 medium bananas, 2 can be regular ripe but 2 must be very VERY ripe, like to the point of blackness

2) In addition to chocolate chips, add some butterscotch chips, this adds a certain maple-y, rich flavour that makes it even yummier in my opinion

3) I use half whole wheat flour & half all purpose flour or sometimes a mixture of different flours ( e.g. 1/4 cake flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour)

Nigella’s Banana Bread (Natty Bakes REMIXXX)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar (can use less of you’re going to be putting in a lot of choco chips, I use all brown sugar or a half/half combo)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3-4 ripe bananas, mashed (See tip #1)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons plain flour ( See tip #3)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (or more!) of chocolate chips or a mixture of butterscotch chips and chocolate chips (sounds a bit gross/too sweet maybe but trust me, in a way this is the special or “secret” ingredient that give it that je ne sais quoi/ups the ante on the deliciousness factor–See tip #2)
  • Nigella calls for 6 tablespoons of bourbon or dark rum as well as 1/2 cup of golden raisins & 1/4 cup of walnuts but I don’t include these ingredients and use my additions instead. Feel free to try her version though. They are basically two totally different kinds of banana breads (mine being the less sophisticated version I guess!)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 325 Fº
  • Grease loaf tin
  • Beat butter and sugar until blended
  • Beat in eggs one at a time, then bananas. Stir in vanilla.
  • In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • Add flour mixture, a third at a time, stirring well after each addition.
  • Gently mix in chocolate & butterscotch chips
  • Pour into tin and bake for 1 – 1 1/4 hours (or when you insert a toothpick into it & it comes out clean–not going to lie though, I like my banana bread very moist/maybe even a slight slight tad undercooked)
  • Enjoy!

bananabread1-main_Full

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 2:30 am

    I happen to have a crush on the same person as you! Being without cable for well over a year now, I totally miss Nigella’s shows!!

  2. September 14, 2009 7:16 am

    I LOVE Nigella and fully admit that I too have a foodie crush on her! hahha She is such an inspiration- being a home-grown cook with no formal training but just a deep passion in the kitchen! Her recipes are all comfort worthy , just like this wonderful banana bread! YUM!

  3. September 14, 2009 11:38 pm

    Hi Nat,

    Love, absolutely love banana bread. You should submit it to the bread contest on my site. The winner gets a $179 Super Bread bread knife from New West Knifeworks. You can get more info here:

    http://www.phamfatale.com/id_570/title_18-More-Days-until-the-End-of-the-Bread-Contest/

    Best,

    Jackie

  4. AJC permalink
    November 17, 2011 8:53 pm

    Made this last night and they turned out perfectly! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

