Skip to content

Natty bakes Peachy Keen Cobbler

August 30, 2010

We’re in the last stretch of summer and I wanted to quickly endorse a great recipe for peach cobbler. My mom and granny went to a farmers marker together the other week and they gave me a bunch of fresh peaches to take home when we met up later that day. I like to pretend that the peaches are from Georgia because I associate cobblers with the South but of course they are actually Ontario peaches.

I found a decent-looking recipe and its ingredient list conveniently matched what I already had in my house. I modified it a bit as there wasn’t enough topping for my liking and adjusted the amount of sugar and spices. I also tried making a whole wheat flour-spelt topping and it was quite successful. Purists may not add any spices to the filling but I think that a bit of cinnamon can never hurt. Finally, for some truly good eats it’s essential to warm up a piece and serve it with vanilla ice cream. It’s not essential, however, for you to play these songs while baking this cobbler.

I would highly recommend it though.

 

 

*Shoutouts to Devo!*

 

CINNAMON! WEBCAM! I need a new camera :/

Peachy Keen Cobbler

Ingredients

Filling

  • 6-8 large fresh peaches sliced into small wedges (I keep the skin on, why not?)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of half white sugar and half brown sugar (adjust measurement according to your taste)
  • 1 tbs of lemon juice
  • 2 tsps of cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Topping

  • 1 cup all purpose flour (or try mixing flours e.g. wholewheat, spelt)
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup chilled and cubed butter
  • 1/4 cup boiling water

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425 F.
  • Mix together peaches, lemon juice, sugar, spices and cornstarch and then place in a decent-sized baking dish and bake for about 10 minutes (it depends on how ripe the peaches are).
  • While the peach filling is cooking prepare the topping. Stir together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.
  • Incorporate butter until the mixture looks like a coarse meal.
  • Boil water and stir it in until just combined.
  • Take peaches out of the oven and place spoonfuls of the topping batter over them.
  • Put the cobbler back in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes (or until the topping is nice ‘n golden).
  • When you take the cobbler out of the oven sprinkle it with some sugar and cinnamon.
Dear summer, I know you gon' miss me For we been together like Nike Airs and crisp tees

Dear summer, I know you gon' miss me/ For we been together like Nike Airs and crisp tees

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

