Skip to content

Natty bakes Chocolate Chip Cookies with Cinnamon and Sea salt

November 20, 2010

Bake them again & again & again...

The other week I dropped by my local coffee shop and picked up a delicious cookie featuring cinnamon and sea salt. The place is Ezra’s Pound (Annex location) and although the coffee and food are fantastic, the attitude in there generally leaves something to be desired. I typically get the stare down from the too cool for school (or work?) people hanging out- maybe it’s just too cool in there for this boisterous baker. Either way, they made a great cookie that day and I was left inspired to create the recipe that I’m sharing with you now.

These cookies are a bit too good. As if cookies aren’t delicious and addictive enough already these guys are chocolately, sprinkled with sea salt and even contain a stimulant. OK, only half a teaspoon of instant espresso in each batch but still…They’re pretty damn dangerous and I’m at the point of checking into cookie rehab. I kept telling myself last week that I needed to bake batch after batch in order to perfect my recipe but deep down inside I knew that Fatty Natty had gluttonously evil intentions and plans.

Go ahead and test out the recipe- but don’t say I didn’t warn you. Add more butter if you really want to misbehave.

-Naughty Natty

Mmm...cookie dough.

Chocolate chip cookies with cinnamon and sea salt

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour (all-purpose or cake/pastry)
  • 3/4 cup of sugar (half brown, half white)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp (rounded) instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbs flax seeds, slightly crushed
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips
  • sea salt (to sprinkle)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • In large bowl cream sugars and butter together very well. Add vanilla and egg. Mix until combined.
  • In another bowl stir together flour, cinnamon, instant coffee, baking soda and salt.
  • Add dry ingredients to wet batter in a few additions, stirring gently after each addition. Add in chocolate chips and flax seeds.
  • Place balls of dough on cookie sheet and sprinkle with sea salt (gently pressing down to make sure the morsels don’t fall off!)
  • Bake for around 10-12 minutes or until slightly golden. Sprinkle with a bit more cinnamon right out of the oven.

P.S. Thanks to Devon for the mesmerizing cookie gif find- I will repay her with 5 real cookies.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 6:25 pm

    Those look so delish!

  2. Tiziana permalink
    December 11, 2010 4:07 pm

    Okay, I’ve stared at your baking cookies long enough; mesmerizing indeed. Great post Natalie!

  3. Alexa permalink
    February 19, 2011 11:07 am

    These sound lovely. I can’t wait to make them… but how much sugar?!

  4. nattybakes permalink*
    February 19, 2011 10:54 pm

    Thanks so much for bringing this to my attention! It had been added 🙂

  5. Darcie permalink
    July 19, 2011 11:38 am

    I was at Ezra’s last week , had a fab iced coffee and one of those crazy good
    cinnamon choc chip cookies. My daughter and I have been playing with recipes for a week now. Then found you and your recipe. Thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

